About the David C. Eitrheim, MD Rural Resident Memorial Scholarship

The David C. Eitrheim, MD Rural Resident Memorial Scholarship is no longer available. We hope to continue to carry Dr. Eitrheim's legacy forward for future generations.

The David C. Eitrheim, MD Rural Resident Memorial Scholarship awarded $10,000 annually to a first-year resident in a Wisconsin residency program who demonstrates an interest and commitment to rural family medicine. The purpose of the award was to help offset expenses incurred with rural rotations and to fund attendance at an AAFP Annual Meeting.

In January of each year, the WAFP-Foundation accepted applicants from each Wisconsin Family Medicine Residency Training program and Rural Training Track. Applicants were required to complete an application form and submit a personal statement indicating their interest in rural family medicine and their intent to stay in Wisconsin to practice. The application would also require a letter of reference from the residency director or faculty member. 

Background: A Minnesota native and WAFP Past-President, Dr. David C. Eitrheim completed his undergraduate training at Augsburg College and graduated from the University of Minnesota-Duluth School of Medicine in 1983. A 1986 graduate of Sioux Falls Family Practice residency program, he practiced for five months in Cameroon, Africa before joining the practice at Red Cedar Clinic in Menomonie, WI. He lived in Menomonie with his wife since 1987 where they raised two children. His accomplishments over the course of his career have always been patient-focused. Dr. Eitrheim initiated innovative patient care into his practice by changing processes and focusing on building a team-based care system that empowered his clinic staff and encouraged patient involvement in their own care. Dr. Eitrheim says being a family doctor in a small town is “continuous care of your friends and neighbors.” " My care (for my patients) is more than just a moral obligation, it is a desire to help friends and their families have a better life," he says. Dr. Eitrheim also established one of the first rural training tracks in Wisconsin.

Criteria that were considered include the following:

  • Current and future WI rural training experience and exposure
  • Applicant must be a first-year resident in good academic standing in a WI Family Medicine Residency Program or Rural Training Track. 
  • Must be a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians/Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
  • Candidate must have a demonstrated commitment to rural family medicine.      


The David C. Eitrheim, MD Rural Resident Memorial Scholarship
- Award Recipients -

2019 Samantha Olesiak, MD Mayo Clinic Family Medicine Residency: Eau Claire
2018 Karyn Cecele, MD University of Wisconsin DEMCH, Madison
2017 Wesley Fox, MD Gundersen Family Medicine Residency
2016 Paul Stevens, MD Baraboo Rural Training Track Family Medicine Residency
2015 Emily Ramharter, MD UW Madison Family Medicine 

 IMG 1732IMG 1721


L-R: Mrs. David C. Eitrheim (Amy), Samantha Olesiak, MD, and Larry Pheifer, Executive Director WAFP



We no longer are accepting applications for the David C. Eitrheim, MD Rural Resdient Memorial Scholarship

Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians - Foundation  |  210 Green Bay Road  |  Thiensville, WI 53092
Phone: (262) 512-0606 
WAFP-F is a 501(c)3 recognized charity and your donation is tax deductibile as allowable by the IRS.

© 2021 Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians Foundation  |  Sitemap

Project 42 Design LLC - Marketing for all medias.